Beginnings

My journey into archery starts with my father who as a young man was deeply involved in archery and bowhunting, and although I was not yet around during that part of his life. These things have a way of emerging within us decades later and for no apparent reason, one of life’s neat little tricks.

Among some of the bows that my father used were a longbow, a Hoyt recurve, a Drake recurve and a shorter 50 lb “Tox” recurve hunting bow.

The 1st picture shows dad with his 45 lb recurve Drake bow, and a nice buck in New Jersey, circa 1958. You can tell he is right proud! The 2nd shows dad him with his longbow and a marmot. He also ventured into bowfishing.

The fish are carp which are still one of the big gamefish for folks who are into bowfishing. The bow is his hunting Tox, notice the bowfishing attachment at the front of the bow. You can also see the shortness of the Tox in this picture, meant for navigating through the woods and brush in search of quarry.

I got interested in archery just a scant few months ago, when it struck me how archery could fit so well in our lives. We could do it together as a family or as a solo feed the soul sport, just for relaxation in the backyard or to beat the winter blah’s at the local archery range, plus with it’s long history it is just plain cool to be counted as part of the archery brotherhood, so guess what I got for Christmas? – I’ll leave that for my next entry!

2 thoughts on “Beginnings

  1. Dear Charles,I am so happy to see that you are following in your parents and grandparents footsteps by writing, as it is you heritage and your due. I love the photos of early Charles father hunting and I remember seeing them long ago. I wish you lots of enjoyment doing this and lots of fun. It will be a great complement to your actual archery and your life.. Love you, Micheline Brierre

Leave a Reply

