My first time in the field

I’m just back from the State of Maine National Field Archery Association championship held at Lakeside Archery in Yarmouth and also my first archery competition ever and I won my class!

The reality check though is that I was the only traditional shooter and the only person in my class, so it was a gimme, I’m still thrilled and happy about it though, and I felt like I shot well for a beginner field archer. (258 in the traditional class)

The highlight of the day though was that I got to shoot with Laird, who’s been involved with archery since the 60’s. He was a good companion and archer, shared some good insights and made it a very pleasant way to spend most of a day. Here are some pics:

This is Laird at 60 plus yards, I can see that the signmarker just ahead of him marks 64 yards

Here is a competitor, shooting the bunny hop which consists of targets at 35, 30, 25, 20 feet, a little trickier than one would think.

Me  at 50 yards.

The shoot was split into two parts 14 field targets and 14 hunter targets for a total round of 28 targets. The hunter targets differ from the field targets in that they are all black with a white center, like the ones below. The hunter round is also different in that you shoot uneven distances and there is a greater variety of distances.

Laird’s neat compound shooting on the right and my not as neat shooting on the left.

After the shoot everyone tallied their scores and Steve from Lakeside gave out awards.

This is what the award looks like:

NFAA medal, sticker and patch

I had a great day walking and shooting in good company, had a terrific introduction to field archery and I had a win, even if it was just me. I am also thankful to the organizers Pam Gallant, Brenda Cousins and Steve Dunsmoor from Lakeside Archery for putting it all together.

Can’t wait to do it again!

5 thoughts on “My first time in the field

  1. Wow, what a great introduction to Field Archery. You won all the the way around. In your class, in making new archer friends and in entering another phase of a great sport. Congratulations, Dad.

  2. Hello my dear son, i feel so proud of you! It is quite and achievement and you ought to continue in the field you feel so passionate about. The fact that you got a award is proof of how good you can be and how recognized is your talent and ability! Love you. Mama/Michou.

  3. Thanks for all the comments, although I am excited about it. It was still a gimme because of no other archers in my class. Thanks for all the nice thoughts.

Leave a Reply

