Colorado and Bill Pellegrino’s Archery Hut

I’m just back from Colorado Springs where we visited family and attended my cousin’s wedding, although by this writing she and her hubby are somewhere in Mexico, sipping cold drinks and enjoying newlywed bliss.

While there we spent time exploring, hiking, catching up with family and getting some mundane tasks done that I never find time to do in my regular working life, like buy shoes, etc.

The family at Helen Hunt falls

Of course, I took my bow along. You can see a picture of my custom bow case below.

Custom bow case

I was glad to see everything in the “custom case” traveled fine and after reassembling the bow and getting my kit in order I looked around for an archery range. What comes up on the web right away is Bill Pellegrino’s Archery Hut, so I grabbed my bow and went.

Bill Pellegrino’s is on the east side of Colorado Springs, just east of Powers and Platte. I walked in and was impressed right off, the shop is clean, well stocked with bows and archery accessories as well as having a knowledgeable staff and a service pro shop where they were busy tuning bows for customers. I paid for range time which is a good deal at $ 7.00 for all day shooting. Your 7.00 bucks includes a paper target, your choice of style. I picked an NFAA indoor blue face target and walked out to the range.

The range is large with 29 lanes, quality Block brand target butts, floor quivers and plenty of bow racks, 10 yard, 18 meter and 20 yard lines are clearly marked. I could also see 3-D animal targets on the side of the range, so I imagine they have indoor 3-D shoots in the off seasons.

Well appointed 29 lane range

There is a separate section on the opposite side of the range where there are 4 close-range target butts. The staff is constantly using this area to paper tune bows, measure draw weights and help clients.  I also spied a chronometer set up in that area.

I was allowed to use this space (during a break in the action) to  blind bale practice, as I’ve been working on smoothing out my release and follow through.

A customer paper tunes his bow.

They also have a JOAD (Junior Olympic Archery Development) program on Saturday mornings 8-10:00 for $10.00 per session. Which by the way is a good deal for JOAD.

A young lad gets set up with a new bow, dad is in the background looking on.

Staff helps a client fine-tune his sight.

The shop appears to primarily be a compound bow shop. They absolutely have recurves and other types of bows and accessories for them but their bread and butter seems to be the modern compound bow, which makes sense given the popularity of compounds for target and hunting, which is huge in this area.

Overall my impressions were very good, this is a clean, well organized shop, with a great facility, reasonable prices and knowledgeable staff. They are definitely worth checking out if you either live or find yourself in the Colorado Springs area looking for a good shop.

Leave a Reply

