Fall Turkey

I came home yesterday in the late afternoon after having had a bit of a trying day, grabbed my compound bow and rangefinder and made my way out to the backyard target.

I had taken the rangefinder because I wanted to practice at 30 and 40 yards and I had not marked the distance. I warmed up at 20 yards then stepped back to 30 yards. I shot a few ends at 30 yards then heard heavy flapping on the other side of my house next to my driveway, I managed to look quickly enough to catch a turkey flying up to it’s roost. I walked further around the corner and switched from a target field tip arrow to a broadheaded  arrow, fortunately my quiver was attached to the bow.

I then spotted a 2nd turkey walking towards the same patch of woods where the first had roosted. I had my rangefinder so I quickly ranged a tree just ahead of him, 30 yards, the single pin sight was already set at that distance, so I drew, waited for the turkey to clear a clump of brush and loosed the arrow.

I hit my mark cleanly in the vitals and with it had my first ever successful hunt. Laurel and the kids arrived shortly thereafter and there was much excitement and the kids and I went down to the country store to tag him. I’d never tagged anything before so it was all novel. I later cleaned it, which was new too, YouTube showing me the way.

It is so interesting the changes we undergo as people, I would not have thought in prior years that I’d be a hunter, fascinating the paths we’ll take and the growth we can experience when we permit it.

C.

6 thoughts on “Fall Turkey

  1. Hunter may not have been in your vocabulary. But from my perspective, this is how you have always lived your life, without bounds or definitions. It’s a great strength and rare.

  2. What I most admire is your recognition that change is healthy. Moreover, the acceptance of change in ones life is a vital part of keeping young. For that same reason, I find myself often opposing others in the octogenarian organization I belong when they object to new proposals on the time-worn grounds of … “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it” and “we’ve always done it this way and it’s always worked”. Good for you … Charles, the hunter! Dad

Leave a Reply

