Hoyt Horizon Review

I’ve owned my Hoyt Horizon 25 inch riser going on six months now, I’ve shot thousands of arrows through it in that time. Enough, to feel comfortable with writing a review of it.

The Horizon riser is a good quality entry level riser. You will absolutely get more bells and whistles out of more expensive risers however the Hoyt Horizon is straightforward, simple, handsome and has been trouble free. I’ve found it easy to adjust and care for which appeals to my minimalist nature.

The stock grip is comfortable and interchangeable with any of Hoyt’s grips, to include wood if you so desire. The bow feels natural and good in hand.

The Horizon is ILF (International Limb Fitting) compatible so you can use any ILF limbs on it. I’m shooting long W & W Sebastian Flute Premium Wood Limbs for a 70 inch bow and am pleased with this combination.

The limb fittings are simple and straightforward. No magic here, just click your limbs in. The range of weight adjustability that can  be had by loosening and tightening the limb bolts is 10 %.

I have had some experience with other Olympic genre bows but not much, in  Tony Camera’s review of this riser, he opines that the majority of Olympic / FITA type bows benefit from a stabilizer.

I found this to be true. The bow balances better in hand with some weight. I shoot the barebow classes and have a simple 8 oz counter weight but it could stand more. Keep in mind that this riser has a single stabilizer fitting.

I opted for Hoyt’s blackout finish, which is a textured finish and I’ve been  very happy with it. I read somewhere that the textured finish would be a problem with a stick on rest. I’ve found that not be the case, my stick on rest has been on for six months and shows no signs of coming off. (Make sure to prep the surface with something like denatured alcohol before sticking on your rest)

Plunger, plus accessory hole, two fastener holes for a sight are also provided.

The riser comes with a clicker plate and two fastener positions for mounting a clicker.

The riser comes with a clicker plate and two fastener holes to choose from when mounting a clicker.

Hoyt also includes a Hoyt super rest, tools, spare fasteners, tuning instructions and a nice protective sleeve/pouch to store your riser.

One small bone to pick with Hoyt is that when I first got the riser and I screwed in my plunger, I found I could not screw it in far enough as the threads ran out just before reaching the other side of the riser. This was an easy fix as I have taps on hand and I just tapped the hole further and voila, however this could have been an issue for someone who isn’t tooled up or has never used a tap before. I’m making the assumption that this was just an isolated incident and not the norm for these risers.

This riser is not the cheapest for an entry level riser, however Hoyt provides a lifetime warranty to the original owner and in the age of purchasing archery equipment that you may not have seen and used first, there is some assurance that you’re dealing with a long standing company like Hoyt. I have not closely checked the resale value of these but I did spy one for sale recently on the JOAD/FITA classifieds in Archery talk and it was gone lickety split.

This is my first ILF bow and I have been very pleased with the Horizon riser. It is comfortable and good in hand, the simplicity and design of the riser fit my goals and growth. The blackout finish is tough and no nonsense and to my eye, handsome.

I’ve used this bow for a varied range of archery disciplines to include stumpin’ in the woods, field archery, 3D archery, and as of late indoor target archery. It has served me well and I have no reservations in recommending it.

8 thoughts on “Hoyt Horizon Review

  1. Just got the Hoyt Horizon. Mine had paint in the plunger threads making it impossible to screw the plunger without undue force. I used a 5/16 x 24 tap to clean it out. Wonder why Hoyt has not fixed this? otherwise I love the riser.

    • I agree Carl, the unfortunate part with Hoyt is that they are missing a fairly important detail and it can take the consumer a good amount of time, possibly money to make correct. It does erode my confidence in Hoyt.

      • Yes it’s unfortunate, my dad was a machinist so left me with plenty of tools but without the tap, I don’t know what I would have done, perhaps damaged the riser threads by trying to force the plunger in or damaged the plunger.

        Nice blog, keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

